Filipinos Sweep Tamiya Mini 4WD Asia Challenge 2019

Ciara Alarcon
The Philippines recently showed its dominance at Tamiya Mini 4WD Asia Challenge 2019, as Filipinos swept the top three spots of the tournament.

Filipinos Sweep Tamiya Mini 4WD Asia Challenge 2019
Filipinos Sweep Tamiya Mini 4WD Asia Challenge 2019

Graced by Mr. Shinsaku Tamiya, CEO of Tamiya corporation, the competition gathered over 300 racers from 11 countries. However, three Pinoys were able to bag the top three spots. Mevin Bien Chavez was crowned as the best in Asia, while Alvin John Linchangco, and Darwin Basco came next.

Before the tournament, the racers spent hours of practicing on the world class track – the first of its kind ever in the country. Surprisingly, even if the international racers have an experience racing on a large five-lane track, the Filipino racers were still able to dominate the race.

Tamiya Mini 4WD Asia Challenge 2019
Tamiya Mini 4WD Asia Challenge 2019

“It was an honor to be able to host this event. It was the first time, in its 20 years history, to be hosted in the Philippines,” Ferdie Kahn, owner of The Brickyard, addressed. “We prepared for almost a year to host this event. We desperately wanted to give our local racers the chance to participate and experience this world class event and we are so proud of their success. They made their mark on the world stage.”

See Also: Tamiya Dyipne Introduced, A Limited Edition Mini 4WD Kit

The winner of the Mini 4WD Asia Challenge will be going to Japan in November to battle out its rivals in the World Cup.

Here are the Complete Results:

Open Class Race

  • Champion: Melvin Bien Chavez (Philippines)
  • 1st Runner Up: Alvin John Linchangco (Philippines)
  • 2nd Runner Up: Darwin Basco (Philippines)
  • 3rd Runner Up: John Eleazar Fabian (Philippines)
  • 4th Runner Up: Hu Eunhwan (South Korea)

Stock Class Race

  • Champion: Jackraphan (Thailand)
  • 1st Runner Up: Ong Chee Lin (Malaysia)
  • 2nd Runner Up: Huttaprom (Thailand)
  • 3rd Runner Up: Watcharapong (Thailand)
  • 4th Runner Up: Arie Roque

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)